E-resources guide

Ebook Central

Content

Large multidisciplinary collection of scholarly e-books. Includes both, the Academic Complete collection with a changing content of more than 200 000 e-books, and individually selected e-books with perpetual licence.

How to find the e-books?

You can browse and access all electronic collections via A-Z Database List. Search and access of individual e-books via Janet Finna. 

Usage rights and login info

Available on campus and off-campus to Jamk students and staff, login with personal Jamk ID (HAKA login). Walk-in customers have access in the library on specific computers reserved for the purpose.

Number of simultaneous users

Varies. Most e-books have unlimited access, some have 1-3 simultaneous users / e-book.

Loan periods

There is no loan period in online reading. If you download an e-book to your computer or mobile device, the loan period varies from 1 to 7 days. When the loan period of a downloaded e-book ends, the book is automatically returned for further loaning.

Printing

Limited. Printing limits vary from book to book. You can see the copying and printing limits of each book from their title page on the service. For DRM (Digital Rights Management) free e-books there are no restrictions on printing or copying.

Placing a hold

E-books can requested if all licenses are in use. To place a hold, you must be signed in to your Ebook Central account and must have provided a Wait List email. Go to Settings and select Profile: enter an email address in the Wait List field.

The book is reserved for 1 day. Existing holds can be found from the Bookshelf. 

Reading the e-book

When choosing Read online option the e-book opens to the browser, using the ProQuest Online Reader. The reader allows users to seamlessly switch between EPUB and PDF formats, when both are available. 

Ebook Central Online Reader tutorial

Downloading the e-book

Free Ebook Central Reader App (or other software) is needed for downloading books. Downloaded books can be read offline, i.e. without a constant network connection.

Downloading the Reader App (NOTE: THE APP IS BEING UPDATED 8/2025):

• from the eBook detail page in Ebook Central platform start by selecting Download
• select loan length (1-21 days) 
• select Download the app and copy the code shown on the pop-up window (it will be needed later to register your device)
• select a download option for your device: Windows, MacOS, iOS or Android
• open the Reader App and enter the given code to register the device (you can retrieve the code also from the Ebook Central platform by selecting Profile and Get code)
• now you can click Read for a downloaded book

A user can register up to 6 devices at the time and also delete the unnecessary registrations. The option Manage can be found from the Ebook Central platform, under Profile details.  

Ebook Central Reader App - more detailed instructions

DRM (Digital Rights Management) free e-books in Ebook Central: you can use also other reader apps for downloading as long as they are able to handle the Adobe DRM (Digital Rights Management). 

AI tools

Built-in Research Assistant is available in some of the Ebook Central books. 

• Key takeaways – Chapter-level insights help users assess content relevance efficiently.
• Concepts – Important ideas with explanations drawn from the chapter itself.

Unlike general AI tools, the Research Assistant generates insights exclusively from within the book chapter.

Check that

• You have logged in with Jamk username and password (HAKA login). 
• You have downloaded the necessary reader software, if you are trying to download an e-book to your computer.
• You have updated the latest versions of the software.
• Try another web browser, including on mobile devices. Do not use Internet Explorer!
• You have not blocked the browser to open pop-up windows.

If the e-book still doesn’t work

• Check your internet connection.
• Close the browser and start again from the beginning. Clear the browser history.
• Open the link on Janet Finna. A link found by Google, for example, usually won't work.
• Do you have several different programs, tabs and applications open on your computer? Close the unnecessary ones and try again.
• Check which browsers are supported or recommended by the e-book service. 
• See the detailed instructions on the e-book platform.
• Some e-book services offer a separate application as well. You can try that, too.
• See if other e-books on the same e-book service work. If they do, the problem concerns only this certain book. Contact the library: kirjasto.ekirjat@jamk.fi.

New books are continuously added to Ebook Central Academic collection, and also removed without further notice.

The library also purchases individual course books with perpetual licence to the Ebook Central collection. Teacher: contact the library if you have an acquisition request for a course book, that should stay permanently in the collection.

Placing notes and bookmarks is supported, but requires creating an Ebook Central account.