Skip to Main Content

Reporting your publications

JUSTUS - Publication Information Reporting Service

JUSTUS - Publication Information Reporting Service is for entering publication information into the service. The publication information saved to JUSTUS can also be accessed through Research.fi service.

  • Chosen publication information automatically transfers to the publication data collection by the Ministry of Education and Culture and is taken into consideration in the funding formula of higher education institutions.

JUSTUS Service

Instruction: Saving Your Publication

Researcher's Profile Tool - Tutkimustietovaranto - Eduuni-wiki

Contact: julkaisurekisteri[at]jamk.fi.

Publication data collection instructions for publication authors

Publication data collection instructions for publication authors

On what types of publications is data collected?

Publications reported in the Ministry of Education and Culture's data collection must meet the following criteria:

  1. The publication must be publicly available to anyone

    • Public means that the publication is available to anyone free of charge or for a fee. For instance, a publication only distributed to conference participants or to those with limited online access is not publicly available, and therefore, it cannot be reported on in the data collection procedure.

    • The existence of an ISSN or ISBN identifier is regarded as an indication of a publication which was originally intended to be publicly available.

  2. The publication channel must have an editorial board or a publisher independent of the author, who makes decisions on publications published on the channel.

    • For example, self-published documents or documents published on the author's website will not be reported on. Furthermore, publications published by the author through the publication archives of individual libraries or organizations will not be reported on, unless an external party independent of the author has decided to publish them.

  3. The publication has not previously been published in a format to be reported in the data collection.
    • Publications must include new scientific, professional or artistic content that has been previously unpublished in a format reported on in the data collection procedure.
    • Publication saved for instance in a publication archive (e.g. arXiv.org) may be reported on once it has been published in a journal or in another format, which can be reported on.
    • Nor are translations of the authors' own texts, translations of texts by other authors or new editions of publications reported on, unless the publication has been modified to a significant degree as compared to the previous edition.
    • Furthermore, updates to online publications will not be reported on new publications.
  4. The author of the publication is connected to the reporting organization.

    • The organization has enabled publication and research or expert work. In practice, this means that the author is in an employment or other contractual relationship with an organization (post-graduate students according to the criteria given below) or that the organization has otherwise enabled the publication.

    • The contact with the organization is primarily determined on the basis of the affiliation mentioned in the author's publication. For this reason, researchers must be particularly careful to include the name of the organization in the publication and ensure that it is in the correct format.

    • Publications are recorded for the organization in which the research and expert work associated with the publication was primarily conducted, even if the researcher moves to another organization before release of the publication.

  5. The publication is based on the author's research or expert work.
    • For instance, publications dealing exclusively with extracurricular, third sector organization or business activities and not based on research or expert activities will not be reported on. Publications whose underlying research is not related to a person's work at a higher education institution are also not reported on. Additionally, publications exclusively intended for marketing communications are not reported on.

 

 JUSTUS -publication register is maintained by Library. Contact: julkaisurekisteri[at]jamk.fi.

Publication outside data collection

Used to describe more extensively the research activities of researchers

  • A researcher can display information as part of the researcher's profile in the Research.fi service
  • Because the interest of researchers in submitting data varies, statistics cannot be derived from the data
  • For example, posters and conference abstracts and blog publications that do not meet the data collection requirements of the Ministry of Education and Culture and translation versions of publications that do not meet the criteria for producing new information

ORCID

What is ORCID?

The international ORCID iD (Open Researcher and Contributor ID) provides a persistent identifier distinguishing you from every other researcher. It is a serial number that allows researchers to distinguish themselves from other researchers with the same name, among other things. The identifier remains the same even if the researcher's name or organisation changes.

The ORCID iD is widely used by scientific publishers and funders, among others, and researchers can attach it to their publications and other outputs. Researchers can also maintain their own profiles in the ORCID service. Create your ORCID account at https://orcid.org/