Reporting your publications

Definition: Publication data collection instructions for publication authors - Suorat tiedonkeruut - Eduuni-wiki

Open access

With regard to the open access of a publication, data on the (current) open access of the publisher's version of the publication, the type of open access to the publication channel and the Green Open Access (self-archived) of the publication are collected separately in the publication data collection.

• Based on this information, it is possible to determine the open access of the publication.
• In addition, in connection with the open access of the publication, data is collected on the open access fee paid to the publisher as well as on the open access of the PrePrint version of the publication. Regardless of the open access status of the publication channel, it is important that all publications be self-archived to ensure long-term access to them.

Open access to the publication can be achieved through the openness of the publisher's version or parallel recording.

The open availability of a publisher's version of a publication means that the publication is immediately and permanently available in the publisher's service. The publication may have been made open without a separate fee or the publisher may have been paid for the open access of the publication. If the publisher's version is only openly available after the embargo period specified by the publisher, the publisher's version of the publication is not considered open according to the data collection definition, but information on delayed open access can be reported as part of the data collection. However, it is possible to report information on the delayed open access as part of the data collection.

The open availability of a parallel recording (Green OA) version of a publication means that it is permanently available in an organization or scientific field-specific publication archive, either immediately or after an embargo period specified by the publisher.

In all cases, open access to a publication means that the following conditions are met:

1. The publication can be read online in full and without restriction, printed out and copied at least for private use.
2. The publication is freely available from a service provided by either a publisher or research organization that enables the harvesting of the descriptive information of publications and the indexing of their content to other search services, and which supports references and links to publications using URLs based on permanent identifiers (DOI, URN, Handle)
3. The freely available version of the publication is, depending on the publication contract or publisher's policy, either the author's last parallel-archived version or the final version published via the publisher's service If the publication is refereed, the open access version must also be refereed.

In particular, the different development stages of technical systems and the ability to provide a website address that is based on permanent identifiers must be taken into account in the interpretation of condition 2. If the publication has not been given a permanent address, a non-permanent web address can be reported instead. The fulfilment of condition 2 is not yet necessary for parallel storage services maintained by domestic research organizations.

The ability to report the availability of an open PrePrint version of the publication in an organization or scientific field-specific publication archive has also been added to data collection. However, the open version of PrePrint is not considered equivalent to an open publication as defined in the data collection.

As a general rule, so called Free articles, which are opened by journals for marketing purposes and might only be temporarily open, are not to be reported as open access publications unless it is certain that they will remain permanently open.