Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Technology

Welcome!

Information Seeking Tips for Fields of Technics

Information seeking is linked to your studies. You will notice that you need researched information to support your learning tasks. Take over the basic principle of information seeking by practicing the basics first. In this way, you will improve your chances of surviving the basic stage of producing text with very little effort. You repeat time and time again each time in connection with a new task. You will find that information retrieval is rarely a well-progressed process.

The basic functions of databases are similar to e-commerce. When you know how to choose a specific online store, sort the products, buy a specific brand and running shoes of a certain color (your own size), you can cope with the filters in the databases and find the relevant source literature for your task.

Use the Information Seeking Compass alongside this guide. In addition to understanding the functionalities of basic search, the compass supports you in the systematic design of data retrieval. In addition, you will receive support for the source-critical evaluation of the search results and for the good practice and ethically sustainable use of the sources.

Your first task is to study how to use Janet Finna -serviceSearch Home | Janet Finna

1. Find both printed and digital material of JAMK Library with Janet Finna.

  • Please log in, and you will have access to renewals, reservations and other services. When you login with the JAMK user account, you will have remote access to e-resources purchased by JAMK library.

2. Video guides to using Janet Library Database: 

Janet account
Janet search
Janet article search

How to start?

A quick guide to information sources

  1. Are you looking for information on books either in print or electronic?

Go to the Janet Finna database to search!

  1. Wondering how do you find a course book and check its availability?

Search Janet Finna for a book either by author, title or combination thereof. See the Holdings information to find out in which campus library the book is available, and check the Shelf where it is placed (shelf number and the word after that).

  1. Looking for scientific articles but don't know where to search?

Do a quick search with Janet Finna's International Articles Search, and then select the Source (database) from which you continue to progress. You can also find Finnish scientific articles of Journals.fi in Janet Finna. Narrow your search results to full-texts and use the Content type 'article'.

  1. Do you want to check if a certain journal or periodical can be found in Jamk library either in print or electronic?

Go to the Janet Finna database, search by journal's name and select 'Title' or select Browse > Journals and articles to find international journals.

  1. Looking for a specific article?

See if you can find the journal in the Jamk library (point 4) or enter the title of the article in Janet Finna's search for international articles (point 3). The article could also be online free to read > use Google Scholar search and add: Settings > Library links > Type: jamk > Select all Jamk library links > Save. This will also allow you to access texts in Jamk library databases when you are logged in to Janet Finna.

Stages of information seeking

Stages of information seeking

Hey, are you looking for reliable information in your field? Take the Compass of information seeking for your use. You are welcome to discover your possibilities.
8 steps of information seeking process

Information seeking as a process

  1. For a start, consider what is your information need
  2. Explore your topic (think up and outline)
  3. Focus your search (familiarize and zoom in)
  4. Refine your topic (frame and set limiters)
  5. Collect information (search, locate and select)
  6. Use found information (summarize, write and  innovate)
  7. Share your knowledge (refer, upgrade and  network)
  8. Ask for more and contact the Library!

Assessment

Assessment belongs to every stage of the process. This figure reminds of assessment and evaluation in the different situations.

kompassineula, jossa numerointi 1-8