First, find out to yourself how extensively you need to search for information
The extent of the need for information determines how much time you need to set aside to plan your data search and carry out searches
Data retrieval always starts with the identification of search terms. The challenge of the search is the inaccuracy and ambiguity of the language. Start with the basic concept of the phenomenon under consideration, get more information about it by looking at the search result. This guide will give you tips for word search and keyword search.
The preparation of data retrieval always includes the identification of databases. At the very least, what databases do you need to utilize? You can get started with Janet Finna.
Subject search
Focus the search with subject terms
In subject search, the agreed vocabulary terms, in other words, thesaurus is used
The search only targets words that describe the content of the publication in the database's subject field
Accurate search if the relevant word you choose covers your topic well
Useful and effective in a wide range of data, such as a large article database.
Enable different vocabularies and thesauri and enhance your search. You can find thesauri online, as well as in the connection of some databases..
Information seeking is a smart use of appropriate words, not information technology!
find concepts related to your topic
look for exact terms as well as wider entities
also note other alternative or similar concepts
Finto.fi ThesauriThe Finnish National Library's Finto service provides information seekers with vocabularies and ontologies.
Watch the video: Find search words from thesauri
TOP Thesauri and subject terms
TOP thesauri and dictionaries in your field
General Finnish ontology YSOGeneral Finnish Ontology YSO is a trilingual ontology consisting mainly of general concepts.
MOT Kielipalvelun MOT Sanakirjat® sisältää laajan ja monipuolisen valikoiman korkealaatuisia yleiskielen ja erikoisalan sanakirjoja. Erikoisalan sanastoa on esimerkiksi lääketieteen, tekniikan, kaupan, talouden ja juridiikan aloilta. Lisäksi palvelussa on käytettävissä MOT Kääntäjä ja MOT Kielentarkistin. -- MOT Kielipalvelu® includes high-quality dictionaries, secure machine translation, and useful proofreading.
Voit käyttää MOT Sanakirjoja® kätevästi kaikissa laitteissasi myös Jamkin verkon ulkopuolella – tilaa vain kirjautumislinkki Sanakirja.fi-palveluun MOTin kautta!
Jamkin verkossa: Valitse organisaatiolistasta Jyväskylän ammattikorkeakoulu ja syötä Jamkin antama sähköpostiosoite. Saat sähköpostiisi kirjautumislinkin, jolla pääset käyttämään MOT Kielipalvelua® missä vain, milloin vain.
TEPA-termipankkiLinkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaanTTEPA-termipankki sisältää sanastoja, sanakirjoja ja termitietokantoja, joissa on monikielisiä erikoisalojen termejä ja määritelmiä. yleisimmät kielet ovat suomi, ruotsi, englanti ja saksa -- TEPA is a collection of special language dictionaries and contains glossaries, dictionaries and terminological databases. The most common languages are Finnish, Swedish, English and German.
Ympäristösanakirja EnDic (Syke)Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaanYmpäristösanakirja EnDic kattaa ympäristön- ja luonnonsuojelun laajasti. Mukana ovat muun muassa meteorologia, hydrologia, ympäristötekniikka, vesihuolto, jätehuolto ja EU:n ympäristöasiat. Mukana myös Ilmatieteellinen sanakirja MetDic. -- The Environmental Dictionary EnDic covers a wide field of environmental protection and nature conservation, including such areas as meteorology, hydrology, environmental engineering, water supply and wastewater treatment, waste management and the environmental policy of the EU. The dictionary now also includes the Meteorological Dictionary MetDic.
The European Dictionary Portal is here to help you find your way to good, trustworthy online dictionaries of European languages, regardless of whether you are an academic, a translator, a language teacher or simply a language enthusiast.
Combination of search terms
How to combine search terms?
Use Boolean operators:
AND (narrow) use when you want ALL search terms must appear in resulting publication or document.
For example,with terms students AND well-being you will find information on students' well-being .
OR (broaden) use when you want ANY of your search terms must appear in resulting publication or document.
For example, search query well-being OR "life quality" OR welfare broadens the search and produces many results.
NOT (narrow) use when you want to exclude word(s) from your resulting publication or document.
For example, search query students NOT "open university" excludes the last word from results.
